Difficult Times · Knitting · Life · My World Wednesdays · Uncategorized

Knitting: Past Time and Relief

collage-2017-07-12-14_07_44.jpg

Hey Y’all! It’s Hump Day! Almost through the week!!

It’s about time that I make a new post. I have a few ideas in the back pocket, but here is one that I have been thinking about posting for the last few days.

My family has been going through a lot over the last few weeks. My dad’s health isn’t great, my hunt for a job could be better, and we had a tragic death in the family. I also have been struggling with something I have re-discovered about myself. I’ll do a post on that later, after I do some more research.

Even with the bad, there has been some good too. Josh’s niece was in town and we got to spend some time with her, and his family. I’ve starting meditating again and I have been starting to feel better about my situation now.

But one of the things that has been helping me get through this difficult time has been knitting! I picked up knitting almost 5 years ago, by watching YouTube videos. You see, my family crochets. My mom, my grandma, my great-grandma’s, and it goes on and on. Even my brother can crochet! Me? Nope. For the life of me, I cannot crochet. I decided to give knitting a try, but my family cant knit. Or at least they find it difficult. (I understand that struggle.)

So I grabbed my phone, and found how to knit videos, and I picked it up extremely fast! I can’t knit many things, but I am really good at scarfs! 😉

The reason I am posting about it, is that I find knitting to one of my escapes from my anxiety and depression. I am always finding different things to cope with my short comings, and without medication.

And the other day, Josh’s niece asked me if I had any favorite hobbies. I told her a long list of things, then I mentioned that I knew how to knit. Before I could ask her another question, she gasped in excitement asking if I would teach her how to knit too.

I love when you can pass down skills like knitting, sewing, and other like hobbies that our ancestors relied on to survive.

Do any of you knit? How did you learn? How long have you been knitting? Feel free to leave a comment!

I will talk to you all later! Have a great day!

-Bailey

Leave a Reply

